2017 Forte Awards listings: Buddy Emmer wins for Blues

Tahoe Onstage

Mojo Green, which appeared at the Hangtown Music Festival, above, won the Forte Award for best R&B Band.
Larry Sabo Tahoe Onstage

2017 Forte’ Nominees and Award Recipients

Winning nominees are in bold


01. Actor, Dramatic Role
Adam Hsu
Cody Canon
Ian Sorensen
Jessey Richards
John Frederick

02. Actress, Dramatic Role
Cori Cooper
Debra Lynn Hull
Jasmine Jiang
Juli Fair
Kathy Welch
Moira Bengochea
Olivia Hansen
Rachel Lopez
Sophie Moeller

03. Actor, Comedic Role
Abel Echeverria
Cody Canon
Gary Eugene Cremeans II
Greg Klino
James Miller
Jesse James Ziegler
Robert Zellers

04. Actress, Comedic Role
Ariana Cramer
Ilyana Hobson
Jesse Briggs
Rachel Lopez
Rachel Steinman
Vanessa Ribeiro

05. Actor, Musical Role
Bill Quinby
Cody Canon
John Frederick
Richard S. Sargent
Rodney Hurst
Ryan Kelly

06. Actress, Musical Role
Cori Lynne Cooper
Ilyana Hobson
Jesse Briggs
Jill Marlene
Molly DeLallo
Molly Stewart

07. Best Director/Producer
Amanda Alvey
Andy Mills
Cami Thompson
David Zybert
Joe Atack
John Bankhead
John Frederick
Kendall Mann
Ryan Costello
Susan Boulanger


08. Ballet, Contemporary and Lyrical
Angela Smith
Ashley Smith
Kelsi Landerkin
Kris Swaczyna
Sophia Carter

09. Dancer in a Musical, Play, or Production Show
Courtney Cobble
Dillon Daggs
Jayde Reid
July Reddicks
Taylor Shepack

10. Ballroom, Jazz and Tap
Haley Davis
Jennifer Oropeza
Marla Richardson

11. Bollywood, Belly Dance and Movement
C-Chelle Martinez
Terri Sheridan
Reno World Dance

12. Hip Hop, Pop Lock, Breaker and Street Performer
Alex Gumm
Michael Kaski
Sign Monkey, John Hartman

13. Special Act Performer
Claire Nightingale / Tahoe Fire Dancers
Rebecca Yruegas
VaVa Vivian
Whiskey Sirens

14. All Around Junior Dancer
Alex Schwartz
Bryce Walsh
Sophia Cacioppo


15. Male Comedian
Bobby Benedict
Cesar Calix
David Gamble Jr.
Jeremy Boswell
Nick Josten
Paul Bronken
Roger Diez
Sam O’Brien
Sammy Solorio

16. Female Comedian
Amy Bosch
Andrea B
Josie Spadoni
Sarah Rooker
Verma Chelli

17. Improv
Amanda Alvey
Bryce Sanders
Sam O’Brien
Marki Ho


18. Magician
Debi Destiny
Jacques Simard
Larry Wilson
Robert Simpson
Xelena, Empress of the Impossible


19. Blues
9 Below Zero
Alex Muddy Smith
Athena McIntyre
Blue Haven Blues Band
Buddy Emmer
Foureyed Jimmy
Jason King Band
The Blues Monsters
The Jokers Wild Blues Band
The Trey Stone Band

20. Metal and Heavy Rock
Chapter 3
Elephant Rifle
From the Ruins
Machine Gun Vendetta
Monkey Pinata
Third Edge
We Predict A Riot

21. Rock
Alisha Sadler
Blue Dyno
Frankly Fictitious
Hot Rod Rebellion
Metalbilly Trucker
Seasons of Insanity
Serenity Awaits
The Electric
Zack Ryan

22. Jazz
Alex Muddy Smith
Big Bill Robless
First Take featuring Rick Metz
Kyle Rea Big Band
Reno Jazz Orchestra

23. Pop
Asphalt Socialites
Big Heart
Eddy Bueno
Jonathan Rolling
Nevada Gay Mens Chorus
Pink Awful
The Novelists
The Run Up
The Sad Toms

24. R&B, Funk and Soul
Arizona Jones
Mojo Green
The Sextones
Trey Stone
Wesley Orsolic Band

25. Country
Alex Muddy Smith
Everyday Outlaw
Greg Austin & Southern Justice
Patrick Casey
Spur Crazy

26. Americana, Bluegrass and World Music
Jeff Wayne Watkins
Mel & Gia
Sierra Sweethearts
Monique Jade Band
The Reno Swing Set
Tyler Stafford

27. Cabaret and Tribute
Audio Boxx
Beatles Flashback
Hollywood Trashed
Left of Centre
Retro Radio Dolls
The Floyd
Wild Child

28. Jazz Instrumentalist
Corky Bennett
Doug Coomler
John Shipley
Niall McGuiness
Rick Metz

29. Bass
Alexander Korostinsky
Gia Torcaso
Landon Gray
Scott Parsons
Steve Caba aka Guss

30. Guitarist
Andy Kimberly
Buddy Emmer
Eric Stangeland
Jason King Roxas
Jeff Montgomery
Mark Cromer
Michael W. Proud
Tom Sheridan
Trey Stone
Wesley Orsolik

31. Drums and Percussion
Brooklyn Reiff
Dan Weiss
Dean Rossi
Kevin Maxwell
Len Campanaro
Rick Brenner
Steve Roberts

32. Electronic
Erik Lobe
HullabaloO, Andrew Bryant
Kirst / Kiechler
Neuro Type
Rob Lawrence
Sky Cats

33. Hip Hop Vocalist
Another Chapter Productions
Just Sam
Luke Wynn
Nina Ox
Ronnie Mac
Stevi Cooper
Stratify featuring Jhaquin
Too Much

34. Female Vocalist
Carolyn Dolan
CeCe Gable
Cindy Sabatini
Grace Gatsby
Grace Hayes
Jonie Blinman
Kim Emmer
Krystal McMullen
Lisa McCuiston
Michele Swaczyna
Natalie Jones
Stevi Cooper

35. Male Vocalist
Eric Andersen
Greg Austin
Mario Guzman
Marsh Brodeur
Shane Whitecloud
Tobin Jones

36. Lifetime Achievement Award
Larry Engstrom

About Tim Parsons

Tim Parsons is the editor of Tahoe Onstage who first moved to Lake Tahoe in 1992. Before starting Tahoe Onstage in 2013, he worked for 29 years at newspapers, including the Tahoe Daily Tribune, Eureka Times-Standard and Contra Costa Times. He was the recipient of the 2011 Keeping the Blues Alive award for Journalism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Share This